In 1945 Dr. J. L. Gallemore built Perry’s first baby clinic on this corner. It contained two reception rooms, four hospital rooms, an examination room, an X-ray room, an operating or delivery room, a laboratory, a doctor’s office, business office, kitchen, and two bathrooms. Hundreds of babies were born in this building between 1945 and 1986 when Dr. Gallemore sold his practice. This building contains a half basement which was used for storage. Previously located on this corner lot was a frame building which housed The Houston Home Journal until 1939 when John L. Hodges built a new building next door at 936 Carroll Street. Today Dr. Paul Smith offers family eyecare in this building.