This home originally consisted of two rooms and a kitchen built in 1835 by James Erskine Duncan. It was the first frame dwelling in Perry as others were built with logs and round poles. For almost 150 years, successive generations of the Duncan family lived in this home. In 1877 Judge Clinton C. Duncan, son of James E. Duncan, built the Victorian second-story addition and made the structure an outstanding Carpenter Italianate, gable ell house. After his service in the Civil War, President Grover Cleveland appointed Colonel Duncan as General Inspector of Indian Agents for four years. During this time he left his mark in the state of Oklahoma by naming one town “Perry” and another “Duncan.” The property was sold in 1981 by descendants of the Duncan family.