Former Mulkey Home

This cottage was built in 1891 by Mary and Matilda Mulkey who were dressmakers. From this home Mary Mulkey sold a tonic for strengthening and invigorating the nerves which could also be used for chills and fever. Each recipe cost $1. Mary died in 1898 and Matilda moved to Cordele, renting this house to a succession of renters until the Anderson family bought it and remodeled it, adding a spacious front porch and other improvements.