New Perry Hotel

Originally a stagecoach stop known as the Eagle Hotel in the 1850s, the name was changed to the Perry Hotel in the 1880s after the railroad was built between Fort Valley and Perry. The telegraph office was located here as documented by the Home Journal in 1886. The old hotel was razed in 1924 and the New Perry Hotel was built to serve the large influx of tourists caused by paved roads and the Florida real estate boom. The New Perry Hotel was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.