The Perry Methodist Church was organized in 1826 and built its first church building in 1827 near the center of Evergreen Cemetery. It was a small frame structure without a bell or steeple; pulpit boxed-up and elevated; portable seats or benches; only a window here and there; and buttoned shutters instead of sash and glass, unsealed. The church was unpleasant in winter and summer. It is thought that the second church building was erected in 1846 on the front half of the present church square. Construction on the third building was begun in 1860, but was not completed when the Civil War began. It was planned, designed, and constructed by D. P. Flandreau of Chester, N.Y., but when the war began, Mr. Flandreau joined the Southern forces and marched away. Peter, a slave from the William M. Davis plantation, Mossy Hill, carried out the completion of the church. In 1906-1907 the building was lowered three feet and a front porch and columns were added. In the 1920s the basement was deepened by several feet and rooms were added for the elementary grades of Sunday School. In 1960 construction was begun on the educational building and classes met there for the first time in June 1961. Both the South Georgia Conference Society and the Perry Women’s Missionary Society were organized in December, 1879 during the 13th Session of the South Georgia Annual Conference which met in this sanctuary.