Fundraising was begun in 1896 by Major Joseph Palmer and ground was finally broken in July 1907 for this monument by the United Daughters of the Confederacy. This monument of a Confederate soldier made of Italian marble mounted on a granite base cost $2,000 and stands on the same spot where the liberty pole was raised when Georgia seceded in 1861. A dedication ceremony was held on May 21, 1908 and members of the Perry Rifles fired a salute at the close of the ceremonies. Today the monument reminds us of the many Perryans of all wars who sacrificed their lives in service to their country. Originally the monument was placed in the middle of Ball Street but was moved when Perry’s first red light was installed in 1928.